Paediatrics and Neonatology

The paediatric and neonatal clinical unit is based at Russells Hall Hospital and consists of three separate areas:

  • Neonatal unit
  • Paediatric ward
  • Paediatric outpatients

The neonatal unit is a service for newborn babies. If a baby is discharged then re-admitted, the baby will go on to the paediatric unit. The paediatric unit treats babies and children up to the age of 16 years old.

The multi-disciplinary team works closely with other departments within the Trust and external partners such as Primary Care Trusts, Social Services and GPs to provide a high standard of care for babies, children and young people.

Neonatal Unit (Second Floor, East Wing)

The neonatal unit has 18 cots – three neonatal intensive care, two high dependency and 13 special care cots. There are also three cubicles for babies requiring isolation.

The neonatal unit has two flats with kitchen facilities where patients are offered the opportunity to be resident prior to discharge to care for their baby independently with advice and support from the neonatal team.

Paediatric Ward (Second Floor, East Wing)

The paediatric ward has 41 beds, divided into nine side rooms with en-suite facilities, eight four-bedded bays and a resuscitation room. There are:

  • Dedicated bays for observation including an examination room
  • Day case area
  • Dedicated adolescent area with single-sex facilities and a sitting room

There are facilities for parents including:

  • A parent’s room
  • A quiet sitting area
  • Toilets and bathroom
  • Beds are provided at the child’s/young person’s bedside

Children’s Outpatients Department (Ground floor, East Wing)

The children’s outpatients department provides clinics for general paediatrics, neonatology, diabetes, respiratory, neurodevelopment and emotional/behavioural clinics. There is also a dedicated assessment unit and nursery with therapists based in the unit. It provides excellent support to children with various disabilities.

Visiting times

  • 10:00 – 12:00
  • 15:00 – 18:00